Author Topic: mechanics  (Read 606 times)

Offline Lawrence Hahn

mechanics
« on: January 31, 2004, 08:22:52 pm »
i'm going this coming weekend to look at a 96 tsi in chilliwack that i mite wanna buy but i was wondering if anyone knew any good mechanics i could take the car to get inspected..cuz all the places i know are in town...so i thought maybe someone here knew a good shop/mechanic thats in chilliwack or maybe abbotsford....or somewhere relatively close...closer than vancouver i guess~~ ...k...thanks a lot!
awrence

Offline John Hartman

mechanics
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2004, 08:29:01 pm »
Mertin GM will do a good job.  I work there.  They are pretty expensive, and are a GM based shop of course, but they will do it properly.

Also if you bring it by when I am at work, I can look at it body wize and tell you about the paint/body.  I do this for a living and have for a while.
91 Eagle Talon TSi 5spd awd.  GT-12, TriFlow Cams, 850s, Tial, JIC, Jackal, sticky rubber.
86 Merkur XR4Ti 5spd, rwd, turbo, 91,381km.  Original paint, heated leather. intercooled, big VAM, Full 3" exhaust, Cossie sway bar, 16" tires.
06 Mazdaspeed6 6spd awd, DISI turbo, heated leather HIDs, Corksport, Cobb, Konig, Centric...
2018 VW Golf Alltrack turbo Tornado Red, 6mt, some free mods

Offline Lawrence Hahn

mechanics
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2004, 04:17:27 pm »
anyone else?  i'd like a couple options~~
awrence

Offline Mike Schmid

mechanics
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2004, 04:40:59 pm »
I'm another Chilliwack area DSMer but I do all my own work so I can't recommend anyone, sorry...
DSMs - fun when they run

'92 TSi AWD AT - 180bhp
'93 TSi AWD - 195bhp
'90 Laser RS NT - *sold*
'71 Camaro - *sold*

Offline Kevin Standeven

mechanics
« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2004, 11:27:21 pm »
buy a $15 compression tester from canadian tire and bring a tool kit, that'll give you an idea of the engine condition.