Author Topic: New to site and dsm  (Read 1024 times)

Offline Joshua smith

New to site and dsm
« on: December 19, 2010, 05:58:21 pm »
Hey guys. I been looking around on here a bit and thought I would sign up... I see a few names I recognize. I'm new to dsm's and recently picked up Phil's turbo colt from evolution auto performance. So far the car has been great, and now during winter I'll be getting ready to take it to the track. I want to best it's previous run of 13.4@111mph... My goal is at least 12.3 at 120mph. Anyway I'll update this thread with some pics and new parts, as a lot has too be done this winter

Offline John Hartman

Re: New to site and dsm
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2010, 10:55:44 pm »
cool, glad to see you sign up!

Keep us informed on what you are doing.  You got a good solid car to start with.

With slicks, you should be able to turn that 13.4 into a low 12 provided you don't break anything.
91 Eagle Talon TSi 5spd awd.  GT-12, TriFlow Cams, 850s, Tial, JIC, Jackal, sticky rubber.
86 Merkur XR4Ti 5spd, rwd, turbo, 91,381km.  Original paint, heated leather. intercooled, big VAM, Full 3" exhaust, Cossie sway bar, 16" tires.
06 Mazdaspeed6 6spd awd, DISI turbo, heated leather HIDs, Corksport, Cobb, Konig, Centric...
2018 VW Golf Alltrack turbo Tornado Red, 6mt, some free mods

Phil Maki

« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2010, 11:36:17 pm »
anyone can drive that car better than a 13.4s, except me.  sad truth. 

Offline Joshua smith

« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2010, 10:18:11 am »
A few things I am looking Into are cams and suspension.... Looking for opinions on a good set of cams for the 4g as well as a set of coilovers... I come from hondas, so I don't know what good cams are for these engines... And as for coilovers for a colt, all I can find is ground controls and koni yellows.. Are there any other options?

Offline Brett Haviland

• Administrator
« Reply #4 on: December 20, 2010, 09:01:51 pm »