Author Topic: Possible causes for balance belt breakage  (Read 321 times)

Offline Miles Frederick

Possible causes for balance belt breakage
« on: April 25, 2012, 10:59:19 am »
The reason I'm doing the timing belt is that my balance belt broke, taking out the water pump (or at least it failed too).  The damage is not to the teeth, but completely snapped.  The timing belt itself luckily wasn't damaged.

What are the possible reasons for this having happened ?

~75000KM and about 5 years since the last timing belt job, oem parts.

As well the balance shafts seem to turn freely by hand.  Can this type of thing just happen without a reason ?

As for balance shaft delete, I have intentions to do so in the event the engine is ever rebuilt again, but was hoping to not have to deal with the removal w/ the car on jackstands..
91 TSI AWD
91 Laser NA

"A car without turbo is a car with perpetual lag"

Ds-map / Jackal, highly recommended.  I've been running it for the last 3 - 4 years.  Amazing improvement in throttle response and overall power under part throttle conditions, and that was with the old maf still in place for 2 years.  Amazing tuning platform in my opinion, and best of all free.

Offline Jason Harwood

Re: Possible causes for balance belt breakage
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2012, 11:48:46 am »
Balance Shaft belts have been known to pop.
Which is why most people who do builds remove them.
88' MX6 Turbo - 14.2 @ 97.51MPH
94' MX6 V6 - 13.9 @ 96.7MPH
93' Civic Turbo - 14.7 @ 90MPH (bad tune)
90' Civic SI - Auto-X Machine
97' Eclipse GSX 13.6 @ 105MPH
96' Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo
97' Acura EL 14.5 @ 98MPH
'02 Lexus IS300 15.125 @ 91MPH
97' CR-V Winter Beater.
04' WRB WRX STI

Offline Brett Haviland

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2012, 12:15:03 pm »
what i have seen it that the water pump starts to leak... the coolant seeps down in to the b-shaft belt tensioner bearing, siezing it up, which then shortly afterwards the b-shafts belt snaps