Author Topic: Issues: 1G AWD Ground Control w/ 2G Koni  (Read 1515 times)

Offline CamWeiss

Issues: 1G AWD Ground Control w/ 2G Koni
« on: September 29, 2014, 09:41:32 pm »
Hey Guys

So I'm putting this up as a thread for other people's information and to get input on how to best (or being a dsm'er, cheaply) get this solved.

I've been running a Ground Control setup on my 1G for a few years, with Konis up front and KYB AGX in the rear.
The KYB's, being relatively crap, are now on their way out as one has lost its' fun juice from the inside.

It's relatively well known that you can bolt up 2G rear Konis to the 1G, but as it turns out in this case it's not entirely without issue.

The biggest problem is that the perch for the 2G is both higher and smaller than the 1G. Not a big deal if you're just running lowering springs, but with the Ground Control sleeves it leaves nowhere for them to sit properly.

On the old KYB's the GC adjuster fit onto this flange:

There's no such thing on the Koni! Their mounting for the perch is a machined groove into the housing with an internal snap ring that allows their perch (or a sleeve specific to that diameter) rest on it.

I will either have to contact Ground Control and get their 2G sleeve to fit the new Koni properly, or get some machine work done to cut a new, lower groove into the Koni body and have an adapter made up. The Koni body is 42mm, and the ID of the GC sleeve at the bottom is 55mm.

I could have a machine shop cut a new groove into the Koni at the correct height and have a spacer machined to sit on the snap ring, with the 42mm Koni ID and the 55mm GC OD. This may well prove to be the cheapest option but I have to hear back from Ground Control first to see if they'll sell me just the rear sleeves and what the cost will be.

The other obvious issue is that the old KYB had a mount on it for the brake line, and the Koni doesn't.